+353 21 XXXXX


Cork is a great place to do business in the energy sector. Energy Cork represents the voice of the energy industry in Cork and highlights the unique importance of the region to the energy sector.

Energy Cork is an industry-driven cluster pursuing coordinated actions to strengthen enterprise and employment within the energy sector in the Cork region. Supported by Cork City Council and Cork County Council through their respective Economic Development Funds, Energy Cork was conceived by Cork Chamber with a view to building on the unique opportunities for the region to secure competitive advantage in the energy sector.

Energy Cork is membership-led. It is through the enthusiasm and expertise of our members that we make things happen.

The aims of the Energy Cork Cluster are

Our Focus

To be a recognised and influential focal point for the energy sector in the Cork Region.

Our Goal

To raise awareness of Cork’s position at the forefront of the energy sector in Ireland and to drive economic growth and job creation.

Our Strategy

To build upon the extensive natural resources, physical infrastructure, human capital and tradition of innovation in the Cork Region.

Energy Cork Foundation Document

more information on the background to Energy Cork is contained within the following Foundation Document

14% of Ireland’s electricity production (from 20% of Ireland’s electricity generating capacity) is produced in Cork

Steering Group Membership 2022-23

  • Paul Leahy (Chair) – University College Cork
  • Dori Tallent (Vice Chair) – Irving Oil
  • Denis O’Sullivan (Treasurer)
  • Harry O’Farrell (Previous Chair) – ActionZero
  • Frank Caul – Remote HVAC
  • Brian O’Regan – International Energy Research Centre (IERC)
  • Michael Quirk  – IQ Wind
  • Stephanie Maher – Bus Eireann
  • Donal Kissane – Gas Network’s Ireland
  • Rory Kelleher – Cork Chamber
  • Alan Sheehan – FitzGerald Legal & Advisory
  • Jeremy Gault – Simply Blue Energy
  • Jackie Quinn  – QCF Corporate Finance
  • Adam Cronin – DP Energy
  • Jack Reardon – EIH2
  • Douglas Hall – CONSUB


  • Matt Cotterell – Munster Technological University
  • Paul McGuirk – Cork City Council
  • Jean Sayers – Cork County Council
  • Ciara Concannon – Enterprise Ireland
  • Joanne Treacy – Construction Industry Federation
  • Patrick Doyle – IDA
  • John Logan – Port Of Cork
  • Declan Meally – Sustainable Energy Authority of Ireland (SEAI)
  • Cian Murphy – Punch Consulting Engineers
  • Ciara Lambe – Arup
  • Kevin O’Donovan – Statkraft Ireland
  • Michelle Walsh – EirGrid
  • Jim Hughes – Fehily Timoney & Co
  • Jake O’Connell – SE Systems
  • Kevin O’Donoghue – ESB
  • Patrick Calnan – Orsted

“Cork County Council is the first local authority in Ireland to be accredited with ISO 50001 for its whole of organisation energy management system, which includes Fleet Management, Public Lighting and Buildings Units amongst other significant users. As a member of Energy Cork, this accreditation demonstrates Cork County Council’s commitment to the energy agenda as promoted by the Cluster and Cork County Council looks forward to continuing its relationship with Energy Cork in promoting the energy message throughout the Cork Region.”

Sharon Corcoran, Director of Service – Environment – Cork County Council

Cork accounts for approximately 13% of Ireland’s energy use and supplies approximately 25% of Ireland’s national energy requirements.